Systems Engineering and RDBMS

SQL Server 2008 R2 Editions

Posted by decipherinfosys on June 1, 2010

SQL Server 2008 R2 has introduced some new editions and the editions have been grouped into these 3 groups:

Premium Editions: These editions are meant for the large scale data centers and data warehousing applications.  There are two editions which are considered to be the premium editions – the DataCenter Edition and the Parallel Data Warehouse Edition.  Both of these editions have been newly introduced in SQL Server 2008 R2.  Here are some links to get more detailed information on these editions:

Data Center Edition:

Parallel Data Warehouse Edition:

Core Editions: The traditional Enterprise and Standard Editions are now considered to be Core Editions.

Enterprise Edition:

Standard Edition:

Specialized Editions: And the specialized editions to server the unique needs of the different organizations are: Developer Edition, Workgroup Edition, Web Edition, Express Edition and the Compact Edition.

So, overall there are nine different editions available in SQL Server 2008 R2.  It is important to understand the differences between these different editions to make the right decision about which one you need to use for your business.  Below is a link to the feature comparison of the core and the specialized editions.

Feature Comparison of the Core and Specialized Editions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: